• Ashley Cady

Beyonce Slays Once Again... But What's New?

Beyoncé has always been known to shock her fans and she did no shortage of that when she released her new album. Back on April 16, Beyoncé released a teaser for “Lemonade.” Fans had no idea what to expect. What was it going to be exactly? On April 23, fans who had access to HBO or TIDAL music streaming service found out. The album tracks were released on TIDAL, while the visual album premiered on HBO just days before the start of the Formation World Tour.

What is a visual album, you might ask? Beyoncé basically released a mini-movie that strings all the songs on her album together into one story. The video guides the songs through the stages of the Kübler-Ross model of grief; intuition, denial, anger, apathy, emptiness, accountability and reformation. The video shows Beyoncé reacting to the songs that perfectly describe a tumultuous relationship. (You can see the visual album's trailer above.)

Photo courtesy of breatheheavy.com

The songs themselves get very personal, describing the unhealthy relationship between her parents and her childhood in Texas. Some lyrics also suggest that Jay Z cheated. Rumors of unfaithfulness have swarmed the couple throughout their relationship, but could this album be the confirmation fans have been waiting for?

The visual album is supported by many celebrity appearances from Zendaya, Serena Williams, Quvenzhané Wallis, her husband Jay Z and her daughter Blue Ivy. This even includes some home videos of a young Beyoncé and Jay Z, as well as footage from Blue Ivy’s most recent birthday. Beyoncé paid tribute to victims of police brutality by having the mothers of Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown and others holding pictures of their deceased family members during a portion of “Forward.”

The name for the album came from words spoken by Jay Z’s grandmother Hattie at her 90th birthday party: "I was served lemons, but I made lemonade." Beyoncé is getting very personal with her fans lately and just a few weeks ago she also announced her new athletic clothing line called “Ivy Park.” She released a promotional video with that as well explaining the name and why she decided to venture into athletic clothing. Was this a hint at what was to come with “Lemonade?”

Photo courtesy of hollywoodlife.com

Also: she looks pretty hot in the video, but that shouldn’t come as a shock to her fans, or anyone really. Physical and digital copies of the album are expected to be released shortly. Below is the complete track listing for “Lemonade:”

Track List:

1. Pray You Catch Me

2. Hold Up

3. Don’t Hurt Yourself

4. Sorry

5. 6 Inch

6. Daddy Lessons

7. Love Drought

8. Sandcastles

9. Forward

10. Freedom

11. All Night

12. Formation

@usf_encounter tweets: